I love Amazon and use it regularly.

I know that this means that what I buy has to travel, using up fuel and sometimes not being made in America. If that’s a big enough problem for you, go ahead and totally ignore this post. I’m personally not so totally against the negative parts of the global economy that I’m unwilling to ever have anything shipped to me.

If you haven’t discovered its magic for yourself already, or even if you have, I’d like to tell you about my love for buying certain things from Amazon. Let me start by telling you about what is on its way right now.

Seeds started indoors grow better under grow lights. You know, the sort of thing that you think of for home marijuana growers, but which gardeners use all the time too. Walking through Lowe’s with my mom the other day when she went to look at paint samples, I saw a grow light selling for $40. That adds up, especially if you can’t justify spending too much on gardening supplies at the time. Getting a garden started is not necessarily the cheapest thing, no matter how careful you are with your buying choices and how many things you manage to snag for free.

Then I went on Amazon, and soon enough found an LED grow bulb and a clamp reflector for about $15 total, both with good reviews. I won’t buy something without good reviews. Anyways, I was able to buy two sets for less than the single light at Lowe’s, plus some tub tattoos for the kids’ bathtub to reduce slipping and sliding, which gave me free shipping.

I know, I know, if I get Prime I get free two-day shipping all the time. I just haven’t gotten there yet, okay? Plus if I really need it I can just buy through my brother’s account, as he gets his Prime at half price because he’s a college student and doesn’t mind me using his as long as I do it with my own card.

Anyways, my whole order of five items cost less than the one at Lowe’s, and now I have two lights that will hopefully be perfect for clamping onto the sides of the little greenhouse my seeds are in. The lamps should be arriving about the same time as or before the seedlings start sprouting, hopefully making for some vigorous little baby plants.

If all this hasn’t persuaded you to the convenience and versatility of Amazon, let me tell you more about how I personally use the website.

I keep wish lists. Yes, plural. I had one but it got full so I sorted my list into a few categories. I have two different lists for books: one for religious/faith/spiritual books, and one for any other books. I also have “Kitchen and Cooking,” “Home and Garden,” and “Crafts and Random” lists. I direct my family to my Amazon wish lists for things like my birthday, Christmas, and Mother’s Day, which guarantees that I’ll get something I like and which makes gift shopping fairly straightforward for them. I don’t know what I’m getting until it arrives because of how the wish lists are set up for gifting, so it’s still always a nice surprise to see what they chose. Sometimes I’ll tell them the list that I’m most interested in getting items from at the time. It also means that when I have a little money to just spend on myself or to finally get something I’ve been wanting for a while, it’s ready to go.

I have some amazing things on my lists. For instance, I just looked at my Home and Garden list. My husband and I are wanting to upgrade our bed set from queen to king size. Our current mattress is an amazingly comfortable memory foam mattress that we got for only $500 and which is going strong five years after purchasing from Amazon. The mattress on the wish list is virtually the same, but it’s currently about $400 for a king size with a 4.4 star rating. Name brand memory foam mattresses can go for a couple thousand. On top of that, we have a platform frame for less than $100 and a comforter set we like in the wish list. A complete upgrade of our bed will be no more than about $700 through Amazon.

My Kitchen and Cooking list is topped with books on canning, and also includes nifty kitchen gadgets like and apple peeler/corer/slicer for when the dwarf apple trees we’re planting start putting out apples, a food processor, and an All American pressure canner.

My Crafts and Random list is topped with supplies for homemade candles, salves, and balms. There’s also some essential oils thrown in there, and a dress form for sewing. The dress form is probably one of the last things I’ll actually put out money for, but I like having it there to fantasize about making form-fitted clothes without needing to try it on myself or the person I’m making it for repeatedly.

Amazon isn’t the end all/be all for everything. Some things really are better priced at your local stores, or should be bought elsewhere instead. It’s hard to beat WinCo prices at their bulk bins, for instance. I’ve never found almond meal cheaper. Cloth diapers are rarely cheaper on Amazon than on other sites (although not unreasonably priced). Furniture on Amazon can be iffy in quality. Ask me how I know.

Do you like using Amazon? How much does it help you in your homemaking, homesteading, and project endeavors?

 

Disclaimer: I don’t get any kickback for this post. I’m just excited about Amazon deals.

